Food Challenge Wk: 1 Recipe 4- Kale Chips FAIL 1

thZLFIVOGD

 

This was something I have been wanting to try for a while but don’t think I executed it correctly. Boo!

So my inspiration recipe was from Modern Parent. Messy Kids.

The idea is simple…wash, cut, massage with oil and salt, then bake.

All done.

Came out well after 10 minutes but after an hour, they were soggy…. 😦

I suspect that the problem was that I did not have a salad spinner so dried them with paper towels; perhaps they did not get dry enough? She has success story comments, so the FAIL was definitely in my execution…Boo!

Regardless, they did not hold up and my boyfriend didn’t like how they got soggy in your mouth, reverting back to a leaf rather than maintaining the integrity of a chip.

I am not sure if this is how they are supposed to be, but if so, it seems like a lot of work for short-lived chips.   I will probably try once more and update this if there is a difference, but as of right now….FAIL!

So we wrapped up week 1 with 3 successful recipes and 1 fail.  Not too bad!

Check out the successful recipes here:

Kale Soup

Kale Pasta

Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

