How to organize your scrapbook room

So my mom’s scrapbook room has been a bit of a dumping ground for the past few years and really hasn’t been set up to be used. So the result was a room you couldn’t walk in to and never knowing what materials she had or where they were. We lovingly dubbed it the ‘crap room’.. But it was time to change it back to the scrapbook room it started out to be.  So… With a lot of work and a little love,  it is finally an acceptable place to scrap.
So first things first… Choose a place to start.   I started with removing items from bags and sorting into 10 categories.
1. Tools
2. Embellishmemts
3. Paper
4. Pictures
5. Miscellaneous/ no idea what it is or where to put it
6. Doesn’t belong in this room
7.  Donate
8. Trash
9. Empty bags
10.  Empty containers

This went pretty quickly but left me with 10 giant piles.
So I removed the trash and donation piles out of the room to make it seem less overwhelming.

My biggest task was to organize the mountain of photos my mom had.  There were literally thousands.  I just started sorting,  creating categories as I went along.  Once they were sorted,  I found a container for each and labeled it.   Once all were labeled,  I was ready to put them in the closet.   I gave each shelf a theme…. People,  places,  holidays, school,  and other.
Then I placed the boxes on the appropriate shelves.
This is the result.

image

Once this huge step was done,  I was able to address the smaller,  albeit still large,  piles left over.
So first I need to try and decide where I wanted things,  I knew I wanted books on the bookshelves so I set aside all the books into piles by topic and gave each it’s own section on a shelf.    I also decided to place the largest machines on the shelves,  like the sizzix, xyron, and cricket.
Anything unsightly or loose was placed in containers.
I tentatively labeled each section in case I needed to move it.

image

Then I tackled the next thing my mom had a lot of…. Fabric.   I sorted it into colors and then put it into a filing basket. I labeled each drawer and allowed some room for more fabric to be added.  (the larger one is fabric by color)
image

Then I put away all the paper.   The key here was to make it accessible, by color,  and neat.   So I put plain sheets in boxes by color.

image

Unopened packs of paper were put into unused scrap bags.

image

And lastly,  the special paper was separated.  I separated by textured paper,  masks and shapes,  and precut paper.   There was fewer of these and I wanted them to be more accessible so I put them in a desk paper divider,  which was labeled of course.

image

Then the largest task was to tackle embellishments because that was a huge category.  This time I sorted by category as I went along.   I knew I would need places for some of the more prevalent stuff so I tentatively labeled them.   I started out with the following categories because I knew there would be a lot of items for each.
Tapes
Glues
Scissors and cutters
Paint and brushes
Glitters
Inks and stamps
Punches
Book binding
Quilting
Sewing
Quilling
Embossing
Staplers and rulers

I also had these great metal bins that I sorted some small embellishments into. These were things like bling, sequins, metal pieces, tags, clips, flowers,  etc.

image

I sorted first and didn’t worry too much about how neat things were in the drawers.  That could be addressed later.
Put away as you go and anything that you don’t have a spot for yet,  set aside to see how much of it you have.
image

image

The key is to make sure everything has a place and if it needs to be,  is in a container.  You can adjust location as needed and you can organize it within the shelves later.
Any extra embellishments or tools can then be placed wherever you think works.
I had tons of batting and no idea where to put it,  until,  a stroke of genius..

image

It’s tucked neatly away and easy to access with the bungee cord.
Another example is the tons of little containers used for small embellishments like beads… Where to put them… Try a filing organizer.

image

After all this I still had quite a bit of embellishments and paper that needed to be sorted but that needed to be done by my mom… She has a specific organization system there.   So I decided to give her a safety net…. By that I mean a junk drawer of sorts… I did this to hold what she has to sort now,  but also to allow her a place to just drop stuff off to sort later when she needs to.   This will hopefully be utilized and keeps the chaos isolated and minimized.

image

I also was creative with an extra paper divider I had… We broke it into pieces and adhered them to tracks on the underside of a table for additional drawers.

image

After everything had a spot,  I went through and made sure everything was labeled and organized a little better within the drawers and on the shelves.

And now for the fun stuff…
I think an idea board is important for inspiration and so we set two up.

image

It is also important to display your work and even other’s work to serve as inspiration… So here is how we displayed some fun stuff…

image

image

image

(breast cancer awareness contest bra)
Fun hooks are very helpful for keeping things off the floor or displayed.

Remember to keep it fun and functional.  Everything should have a place and it should be labeled.  Allow yourself room to grow but limit it so you are forced to work on older things first.  And remember that organization is a state of mind,  put it away from where you got it and try not to out it off if it only takes a few minutes to put it away right.

4 thoughts on “How to organize your scrapbook room

Leave a Reply

